The PayPal Experience

… in a nutshell my PayPal experience kinda suck. For such a pervasive technology I was a little frustrated with the developer experience. For my purposes I am integrating PayPal with the very popular Drupal CMS and UberCart modules. I ran into problems, as debugging always does, and it took much longer than expected to get PayPal integration working. I blame it on a very non-intuitive User Management from within PayPal. My specific problems can best be illustrated with a screenshot.

In the picture, it is very, very important that the Payment Review is set to Disabled. It’s not very clear what Payment Review does. The Disabled text (or Enabled text after you click on it) indicates PayPal will simulate a Payment under review – it does not indicate the user is Disabled or Enabled. This is not very clear from within Drupal and it took me considerable time to realize that Disabled is the setting I want.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

